Adult · adventure · Anthologies · Books · classic · contemporary · Crime · Discussion · Dystopian · fairytale · fantasy · fiction · Historical fiction · Historical Romance · Magic · Mental Illness · Middle Grade · mystery · Mythology · paranormal · Rants and Rambles · reading · realistic fiction · retellings · romance · SciFi · Series · Short Stories · steampunk · war · Young Adult

What Are Your Least Favorite or Ugly Book Covers?

Hey readers,

So for this week’s discussion topic is all about those ugly or unfavorable book covers. Now, we have all heard the phrase, “Don’t judge a book on its cover” well sometimes you can not help but judge a book by its cover.

I try not to judge a book really on its cover, but it does affect how soon I pick up the book. There are just certain covers that make me stop and think if I want to pick up that particular book. I start questioning if the book is worth the read or not.

Here are some covers that either stir me in another direction or extend the pick up of the book.

I am not a fan of books with people on the cover. I am fine with just one person, but what I am not a fan of is the main couple on the cover. Sure it is meant to be all cute and adorable, but it just irritates me. All I think is that the book is super cheesy. You find these types of covers on young adult contemporary books. And it sucks because there is an author I enjoy in ya contemporary and that is Kasie West. Kasie’s book covers are the two people in love doing cute action. Whether it is staring deeply into each other’s eyes or giving each other a passionate kiss. It is just so cheesy! However Kasie does not write super cheesy books, so I literally have to convince myself that the cover is deceiving and I will be okay to read the book.

Some covers are:

P.S. I Like You by Kasie West

Until Friday Night by Abbi Glines

The Distance Between Us by Kasie West

Now the other type of cover that bothered me only recently stopped bothering me a couple months ago, but I decided to add it in this post since for my whole reading life it bothered me. Now it also has to do with couples and what they do on the cover. It mainly has to do with the adult romance novels. You know the one I am talking about. The woman with her dress partially off, and the overly attractive man that you can never find in real life, kissing the half naked woman. Yeah, those covers used to give me the shivers. Until a few months ago I decided to broaden my genres and pick up a historical romance. After reading a book of the particular genre, I began to not mind the covers at all.

A few examples include:

When a Scot Ties the Knot by Tessa Dare

 

Do You Want to Start a Scandal by Tessa Dare 

 

So here you have what I deem to be unattractive when it comes to book covers.

XOXO,

Cayla

QUESTION: What type of book covers do you find unattractive? Leave your answers below!

Leave a Reply

