Adult · adventure · Anthologies · Books · classic · contemporary · Crime · Discussion · Dystopian · fairytale · fantasy · fiction · Historical fiction · Historical Romance · Magic · Mental Illness · Middle Grade · mystery · Mythology · paranormal · Rants and Rambles · reading · realistic fiction · retellings · romance · SciFi · Series · Short Stories · steampunk · Top 5 Wednesday · war · Young Adult

Top 5 Wednesday- The Second Book Was Best

Hello lovely bookworms!

Since it is Wednesday, I have written a post about my Top 5 second book was better. This post is all about the second books in series that was far more better than the first book. As per usual, I listed the books starting with the 5th one on my list to the top book on my list. Enjoy!

5.)

Scarlet by Marissa Meyer 

In an earlier post, I said that it took me multiple times to read the first book in the Lunar Chronicles, Cinder (read this book review here). I was a little worried I might go through the same process with the second book. However, I thought the second book was much better and not as problematic as Cinder!

4.)

Onyx by Jennifer L. Armentrout

I loved the first book! I really did. But there is something about the second book I enjoyed even more. Maybe it was the better character development? Or the complicated and interesting plot? But it was much better than Obsidian (click here for the book review).

3.)

The Elite by Kiera Cass

I was not a huge fan of the first book, The Selection (click here for the book review). I couldn’t take the book seriously. I also did not enjoy the plot. But I decided to read The Elite just for the hell of it. Surprisingly enough, I enjoyed the second book much better. I had hopes that this series could be saved!

2.)

Once Upon a Dream by Liz Braswell

Fairytale retellings make me weak at the knees! I love them! I also loved the first book in this series A Whole New World (book review right here!). But the second book blew my mind away! It was so creative and entertaining. I was obsessed!

1.)

Clockwork Prince by Cassandra Clare

This series by Cassandra Clare was phenomenal. I was glued to the series. I did enjoy the first book Clockwork Prince (click here for the book review) but I felt that the second book was more developed and more complex.

As you may have noticed, I love complex plots. It makes the story appear more alive. But anyway, here you have my top 5 second books that were better than the first!

XOXO,

Cayla

QUESTION: What second books in a series did you like better than the first book? What are your thoughts on my Top 5? Leave your comments below!

8 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday- The Second Book Was Best

      1. You and me both! She is very annoying, but she has great character development in the third book. You will find her just as frustrating in the second book though. It depends on what you find pleasing in a book. The plot or the characters? For me it is the plot. So i thought that the plot was amazing and grew more complex and interesting in the second and third books

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Plot grew complex? Wow, ok have to take that! Characters and plot both are equally important, as it is the characters which make either make or break the plot. However, if you say it develops greatly, I guess I do have to give it a try!

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Yeah the plot got more complex and more interesting! I love the plot a lot, but the characters also are a thing for me. But sometimes I am not a fan of the characters, but the plot of a story just blew my mind away…kind of like the the selection series did. Idk how you feel about audiobooks, but if you can’t bear to read the books through a physical copy try the audiobooks!

        Liked by 1 person

      4. Audiobooks are a no-no for me. I’ve tried multiple times to listen to them but every time I find my mind wandering off! Anyways, I will give this a try again if you say so. Thankyou for the help 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

